Tags

,

Oh My. What a world we live in. The world’s most wanted man is dead.

What are his hunters going to do now?  How many people will be out of a job, now that the search is over? They’re going to have to set up a support group for the poor fellas. Perhaps they will call it BLAH (Bin Laden Assassins Helpline). I’m sure G W Bush will be the first to sign up.

Don’t get me wrong – I was way out front of the masses calling for revenge for 9/11. What happened was just wrong and the deed could not go unpunished. I get that. But I do believe this is bigger than just one man. Do they really believe his movement will crumble without him? Surely they cannot be that naive. Perhaps I am wrong, though… my cynicism may be getting in the way. I hope so.

Back to the question, though: what now? Interestingly, there are plenty of other dictators and global bad-guys who still roam freely even though they have no earthly right to. Mind you, if my brief glimpse at the headlines this year are anything to go by, people are getting a bit fed up with them. I wonder if Gadaffi has a Plan B? You know – like when I grow up I want to be a dictator, but if that doesn’t work out I’d like to become a judge on Masterchef.

I think we should draw up a list of people who do bad things and send teams of badass soldiers after them to… oh wait, that’s already been done.

Sarcasm aside, I have a couple of serious thoughts on this whole situation.
The first is that I find it really difficult to celebrate a man’s death. It is one thing to feel a certain grim satisfaction when a monster is brought to justice, but to throw a party and go wild with elation just seems like bad karma.
The second thing is that despite my mocking comments above, I have every respect in the world for those who have put their lives on the line for the last ten years in order to right the wrong that was committed on 11 Sept 2001.

Well done – you did it.

Now, about Mugabe…

