Tags

Many years ago I heard a piece of advice that I really liked, so I took it to heart. I stopped reading newspapers and watching the news on TV because it was just so very depressing all the time. Who needs that in their life? So my philosophy became: If something truly important happens in the worlds, someone will tell me about it.

It works well, too. I haven’t missed anything important. I found out soon enough about the big things: Princess Diana’s death, the 9/11 attacks, the New Year’s Day tsunami, Berlusconi’s antics and everything in between. It is impossible to live in the world and not hear about these things.

And today I was reminded why I don’t read or watch the news. During my lunch break I read an article about a woman who was accidentally injected with antiseptic instead of anaesthetic in her spine during childbirth. Her nerves are fried and she cannot hold her baby. They don’t know what her prognosis is, but it appears to be getting worse with time, not better. I spared a moment for the poor young woman and closed the magazine. Then I idly clicked a link to an online newspaper. The trial has ended, of a man who threw his own 4-year old daughter from a bridge (apparently to hurt his wife…!!!) – he is going to jail for a minimum of 32 years without parole. Frankly it makes me wish for the death penalty.

The point is… Holy Crap, people!!! What kind of a world is this where things like this are going on all the time? Isn’t civilisation meant to improve the world?

I dunno, folks. I think I might just stick my head in the sand again and go back to being informed by one-liners on Twitter and newspaper headlines on bus shelters. ‘Cos I don’t think I’m tough enough to handle the whole truth.

