Tags

, ,

So anyway… the NaNoWriMo thing did not quite go as planned. The target was 50,000 words. I got to 21,482. Yes, I missed by miles.

BUT…

I wrote twenty one thousand four hundred and eighty two words in 30 days. Less than that if you take the time I spent trying to first rescusitate my dead laptop, and then replace it and restore my last good backup. Fortunately after spending so many years working in I.T. I had a good recent backup so I did not lose too much work. Only time. A few days worth, in fact. And when you’re talking of a target of up to 2,000 words a day well you can see how easy it is to fall behind.

So no, I didn’t ‘win’ NaNoWriMo.

But I did write almost half a novel. I figured, then, that I would just move the deadline to make it a tad more practical and attainable. Like, say, the weekend before Christmas.

So that’s what I’ve done. I even have a little graph and spreadsheet thing tracking my progress so I can see how I’m doing, because that was the thing that got me motivated durig NaNoWriMo. Seeing the word count climb on a daily basis – in fact, on an hourly basis, because the software I’m using to write the novel (yWriter5 – check it out, it’s great!) has a little daily report that breaks it all down into hourly chunks. So rather than have this monstrous goal of 50,000 words, all I need to do is reach 500 in an hour (or 350, if I’m having a good day).

Fascinating stuff, I know.

What it means, though, is that the blog is going to continue being neglected. So if there’s anyone out there who still visits this place occasionally… well thanks, and sorry – I won’t be around much.

What can I say? I have a novel to write.

