The Friday before last we moseyed into town to go dancing at Havana Club, an open-air club in the grounds of the Queensland Performing Arts Centre (QPAC). Couples showed off their Latin dance skills on the dance floor while a Salsa band played, and barmen in Panama hats served Mojitos for refreshment.
It was all very Cuban, right down to the big old powder-blue 1950’s-style car that was parked in the corridor on display.

Image from www.qtix.com

"Kitri" - Image from http://www.qtix.com

This weekend I went back there, this time to watch the Ballet Nacionale de Cuba performing Don Quixote. The car was still there, in keeping with the Cuban theme. Havana Club was open too, but the ballet took place inside the Lyric Theatre. To The Husband’s relief I found a different companion – a Russian friend of mine who loves to watch ballet as much as I do. All dressed up, we plonked our elegant arses in comfortable seats on Balcony One where we had an unobstructed view of the stage. Perfect!

The ballet was lovely. The ballerina who danced the role of Kitri was divine.  She looked as light as a feather while performing intricate feats of balance and control, all the while expressing the nuances of her character with ease.

I was a little vague on the storyline while watching the show. Somehow I managed to live to the ripe old age of 38 without hearing or reading the story of Don Quixote. I thought my friend might help me out but apparently her school years were a very long time ago and she couldn’t really remember the details.  It was easy enough to guess[1], for the most part although I was a little puzzled about the woman in the long white veil who made occasional appearances.
(Yes, I know I could have found out if I had bought a program but they’re always SO overpriced and I was not in the mood for feeling ripped off.)

Now I know the veiled lady was Dulcinia and it all makes sense (thanks, Google!). But you know what? At the time it didn’t matter – I still enjoyed the dancing immensely and after all, that’s what it’s all about.

~~~

[1] Girl loves boy; Old Fart wants to marry Girl; Girl & Boy run away and dance with Gypsies; Old Fart’s guards bring them back; Boy fakes death and cons priest into marrying him to Girl before he dies; Boy and Girl live happily ever after; Dancing and Merriment ensue.

