Tags

Photographer Unknown - picture courtesy of MS Office ClipArtI thought I’d give you a little update on the Ballroom & Latin American dance teaching.Ā  It is going well.
I have now seen a few of my clients through from their very first class to the last one before their wedding. It pleases me to know that I have contributed in my small way towards one of the most special days of their lives. When they first come to me most resemble marionettes, their movements stiff and awkward. By the time we wave goodbye they are actually dancing – at least well enough to impress their wedding guests.

It puts a smile on my face and in my heart.

Of course in order to be a good dance teacher one really should know how to dance, oneself. Part of my job is to receive ongoing training and over the last couple of weeks I have had a number of these training sessions. It still blows my mind a bit that they are paying me to learn to dance. Fabulous! My portfolio of steps and dances has grown rapidly. I think I am even getting the hang of some of the finer points of technique. It is just a pity I don’t have the time and space to practise as much as I would like and that I don’t have a dance partner with whom to practise.

Although my boss is working on that particular issue. A couple of weeks ago they hired another teacher who, like me, requires training but has the talent and ability to teach in the meantime. And – wait for it – it’s a guy.
WooHoo!” thought I.
Hm, not quite.
I guess it would be too much to ask for him to have resembled George Clooney in any way, shape or form.
{sigh}
No such luck.

I mean, when you dance with someone in a regular dance hold where there’s almost a foot of space between you, it doesn’t matter all that much who your partner is. However it’s quite another thing when it comes to the Closed Dance Position that we were introduced to yesterday. Talk about an invasion of my personal space – it goes something like this:

The Lady’s body is positioned in front of the Man’s right side
and there is full body contact
from the top of the thighs to the diaphragm
.

Yeah, that’s not awkward at all.

I haven’t been that close to anyone other than my husband in about 16 years.

I suppose this is where the term “Professionalism” was coined. In other words, suck it up and pretend you can’t smell the nervous sweat on him or feel his damp palm through your shirt.

And I bet you thought dancing was all glamour.

