I’m making an attempt to type up all the notes I have made in my dance training sessions. So far I have learned around 10 steps/combinations in each of the 6 dances I teach – Foxtrot, Rumba, Waltz, Tango, Swing and Cha Cha. I have almost filled an A5 spiral notepad with notes, most of which are barely legible even to me and often completely undecipherable. This is becoming problematic since I need to practise the steps at home in order to get them in my head and often the new steps I learn are based on ones I have already been shown.

So today I began to type them up. Nice and orderly, the way I like things. Broken down into the Man’s bit and the Lady’s bit. Notes on leading and following and technique. But OMG, did I ever underestimate the work involved in this!!!

I seem to do this on a regular basis. I think of something that needs to be organised somehow and then I start it as a small project, only the project turns out to be much, much bigger than I anticipated!

The same thing happened recently when I bought a scrapbook.  I thought it would be a good idea to sort through all those bits of paper we have collected over the last 10 years worth of travels and put them in a book. It’s tidier, that way, than having little piles of paper and pamphlets dotted around the house.
I am now onto my second scrapbook and still have 3 years’ worth to go. The piles, now sorted, form little mountains on the floor of my office. I am afraid to pack them away because then I’ll just keep putting the project on hold and it will never get finished. This way the mess on my floor goads me into doing something.

As if that wasn’t enough I bought myself a new toy yesterday. I wasn’t looking for it; it just seemed like a really good idea at the time. “It” being a clever little scanner-type thing that views either photo slides or negatives and converts them into digital files on your PC. How great is that?! I have loads of negatives from the days before I went digital so I figured this was a brilliant way to back up the photos , which are probably my most precious possessions – the only ones that cannot be replaced, really.

Oy, I should have thought this thing through. I started to scan them in last night and soon realised that this is the sort of task that could very well see me occupied with it for the rest of my life.

Yeah. Like I don’t have enough to do already.

When will I learn that sometimes things are just better left the way they are..?!

