Tags

, ,

The good news is I have won the opportunity to write articles for a website – an online magazine.  It’s great, right?

Well… the trouble is it’s not as easy as it sounds.  I have written and published two articles and now I’m stuck.  I don’t know what to write about.  The rules are I can write about any topic I choose (within reason) as long as I stick to the layout guidelines.  Oh, but it has to be in 3rd person.  Sounds simple enough, but the reality is a little different.

Writing for my own blog is easy (minus the occasional writer’s block!).  I just tap out whatever comes into my head and there you have it.  I can tell you all about my travels and experiences and it flows naturally.  I find it a lot more difficult, however, when trying to keep the article “informative” and in the 3rd person.  Travel articles suddenly become difficult – it’s no longer about sharing my experiences.  It’s more like writing an objective essay on a place based on research; not so much about where I went and what I did or experienced.

When brainstorming for topics I write down a whole heap of possibilities, but then when I read over them the angst sets in.  Yes, I was there, but I didn’t make a note of the history of the place.  And how can I give a well-rounded article when I did not see everything there is to be seen?  And what if the place has changed since I was there? Sounds like a good excuse to travel to new places, this time with the idea of an article in mind.  I tried that, when we went to Moreton Island.  Trouble was, I was with other people and we only covered part of the island.  I know from looking at the tourism websites that there is more to do but having not done it first-hand I am wary of making reference to it.  It just feels wrong, somehow.

See my dilemma?

I am beginning to think perhaps writing articles is just not my thing.  I have never aspired to be a journalist in any way, shape or form.  I signed up for this because it felt like a good start at getting my name out there.  Getting published is important for a writer.  But now I’m starting to wonder if the energy expended on this is worth the reward at the moment.  The time it’s taking me to write the articles could be far more productive if I spent it on my novel, which is what I really want to write.

It isn’t about the money anymore, either.  Though the potential to earn from the articles is there, it doesn’t pay much.  Besides, now that I’m being paid as a Ballroom dancing teacher, it is no longer a factor.  I feel like I am wasting time trying to write these articles.  It’s even interfering with my ability to blog, believe it or not!

But I also don’t want to quit so soon after I started.  Am I just shying away from this at the first sign of difficulties?  Or is it a case of spreading myself too thin and giving up one thing to allow myself to concentrate more fully on others, i.e. writing my novel and teaching dance classes?  I suppose I don’t want to be seen as a quitter.  At the same time, I need to know when I am wasting my time doing something where the effort far outweighs the rewards.

I never was much good at making decisions.  Sometimes the ability to see both arguments in a situation is actually a disability.

So I wait for the Universe to send me a sign.  Any time now would be good…

It ain’t easy to leave out the “I” and “you”.
