Tags

Here I am, starting over.  Out with the old, in with the new.

For a number of reasons I felt compelled to put my old blog to rest and start anew.  Let’s just move on, shall we?

So here’s my Big News, for those of you who know me.  And for those of you who don’t. ( All are welcome, I’ll do my best to keep you up-to-date and entertained.)

I am about to embark on a new adventure.  Hubby and I are heading Down Under in less than a month.  For good.  We’ve had enough of the rain on this emerald isle; we’re heading into the sunshine.  It has taken 2 1/2 years of paperwork and bureaucracy to get the visas but now we’re on the home stretch: the utilities have been canceled, we’ve resigned from our jobs and the movers are booked.  We got our ‘plane tickets on Friday.

The kids (OK, ‘young adults’ not so much kids anymore) will follow us a month later once we’ve had a chance to find our feet… and a roof to put over our heads.

Our excitement is barely contained.  We’ve been dreaming about this for so long, I can almost see what our lives will be like already.  The type of house we’ll have, with space, and light, and dogs, and walks in the sun, and weekends in the bush or on the beach.  No more being stuck inside hiding from the rain, occasionally firing up the central heating even though it’s midsummer.

So there it is, out in the open at last.  I’ve been sitting on this news for so long, unable to share my excitement or fears online on the off-chance that someone from work may have picked up my blog’s URL and become a lurker, unbeknownst to me…  It’s not the sort of news I felt comfortable sharing with my employer until I was ready, after all.

And now I just feel like I get to completely start anew.  Not only in real life but also online.  So you’ll no longer find me on Facebook, and I’ll shortly be shutting down all my other online profiles as well.  A friend of mine laughed at me – she says it all sounds terribly cloak-and-dagger but that’s not it.

It’s just that this is my opportunity to be selective in what gets to follow me from the past to my future.  And I’m grabbing the future with both hands, and making the most of the opportunity.

After all, isn’t that what life is all about?

